The winners of the following awards were announced during the ICMP

2 August 2021

Opening Ceremony

Henri Poincaré Prize

Sponsored by the Daniel Iagolnitzer Foundation.

The Henri Poincaré Prize was created in 1997 to recognize outstanding contributions in mathematical physics, and contributions which lay the groundwork for novel developments in this broad field. The Prize was also created to recognize and support young people of exceptional promise who have already made outstanding contributions to the field of mathematical physics.

The prize is awarded every three years at the International Mathematical Physics Congress.

Previous Laureates

2021 Prize recipients

Rodney Baxter
"For groundbreaking contributions to the study of exactly solvable models in statistical mechanics, which have led to, and continue to inspire, profound developments across a broad spectrum of mathematics and physics.”
Demetrios Christodoulou
"For pathbreaking contributions to mathematical understanding of the Einstein equations, including fundamental results on black hole formation and the discovery of a nonlinear memory effect in the theory of gravitational radiation, and for introducing a powerful geometric point of view for the problem of shock formation for compressible fluids.”
Yoshiko Ogata (University of Tokyo)
"For groundbreaking work on the mathematical theory of quantum spin systems, ranging from the formulation of Onsager reciprocity relations to innovative contributions to the theory of matrix product states and of symmetry-protected topological phases of infinite quantum spin chains.”
Jan Phillip Solovej (University of Copenhagen)
"For outstanding contributions to the analysis of quantum many-body problems ranging from the electronic structure of large atoms to the Lee-Huang-Yang asymptotics of the ground state energy of dilute Bose gases.”


IAMP Early Career Award

Sponsored by the Springer.

The prize is awarded at the International Congress of Mathematical Physics (ICMP) in recognition of a single achievement in Mathematical Physics. The prize consists is reserved for scientists whose age in years since birth on July 31 of the year of the Congress is less than 35.

Previous Laureates

2021 Prize recipients

Amol Aggarwal (Columbia University)
“For fundamental contributions to the asymptotic analysis of two-dimensional lattice models, including proving the universality of local correlations for dimer models, characterizing Gibbs measures and their current fluctuations for the stochastic six vertex model, and providing a rigorous framework for the tangent method of finding boundaries of frozen regions in planar ice models. The prize committee singled out his article `Arctic boundaries of the ice model on three-bundle domains’, which appeared in Inventiones.”


IUPAP Young Scientist Prize

Sponsored by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.

The Young Scientist Prizes were established in 2007. The recipients of the awards in a given year should have a maximum of 8 years of research experience following their PhD, and should have performed original work of outstanding scientific quality.
The IUPAP Commission C18 for Mathematical Physics awarded its Young Scientist Prizes for the first time in 2009.

Previous Laureates

2021 Prize recipients

Stefanos Aretakis (University of Toronto)
“ Stefanos Aretakis is awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Mathematical Physics for his influential contributions to the understanding of the dynamics and instability mechanisms of black holes as well as conservation laws in general relativity, with a recognised potential for experimental applications.”
Chiara Saffirio (University of Basel)
“ Chiara Saffirio is awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Mathematical Physics for her important contributions towards the mathematical understanding of the dynamics of classical and quantum many-body systems, leading to rigorous derivations of effective evolution equations.”
Vincent Tassion (ETH Zurich)
“Vincent Tassion is awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Mathematical Physics for his key contributions to the understanding of the stochastic properties of representations of classical lattice spin models via probabilistic methods, and his analysis of the sharp phase transition of the Potts model.”